//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Bravery

I have recently become aware of a startling finding,

alcoholics, in the vast majority, are the bravest people on the planet!

This might not be a surprise, alcohol lowers inhibitions and it literally makes people braver. But, studies have shown that alcoholics past and present, are generally much more brave and courageous, even if they’ve stopped drinking!

The scenario I heard was roughly like this;

A barbarian horde is running towards you at full steam, you have two choices; you can either run away, or you can defend your home city to the death!

Amazingly, all persons with alcoholism or a history of it ALL chose to defend the city to the death, at the risk of their own lives. But, the non-drinkers were about 50/50.

This is weird. A liquid we’ve known for forever can make us braver……..but…it only makes us braver if we relinquish to it totally…..i.e. become alcoholics………..hmmm?

I know that I have done some incredibly brave (stupid) things during my time with alcohol addiction. I once batted off a home intruder a few years ago. This stupid fuck was trying to climb into our backyard over the fence at about 4am, but I was awake, I was outside having a cigarette (and I was completely drunk) when I saw this cunt flopping into my yard, I grabbed a baseball bat I own and told him to “get the fucking hell out of here you stupid arse!” or something like that……..he went away.

Alcohol has its uses…….I suppose……but come on people……it should be treated the same way that heroin is treated………heroin kills far fewer people!

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Bravery

  1. I think the bravery gene stands on it’s own. 😉 Alcoholism is a complicated issue with the ability to destroy both the drinker, and those who love them. Unfortunately the observers have to endure the experience with all their senses fully engaged, so perhaps they are the braver ones? G-uno

    Posted by idioglossiablog | October 8, 2015, 7:37 pm
    • God damnit, that’s good point.
      I’m torn between two extremes, one being, Bukowski “Find what you love most, and do it till you die” and the other extreme, the sensible “Stop drinking you drunk!” lol
      But really, I need to stop for at least a year, get my life back on track, then see how I feel about drinking then!

      Posted by sarcasticgoat | October 9, 2015, 7:29 am
      • I always tell my loved one what a shame it would be to reach the end of your journey without ever really knowing how things could have been. 😉 I love your posts, and your wit! You have the potential to do extraordinary things. Plus I’m going to tell everyone I was your fan before you became famous. G-uno

        Posted by idioglossiablog | October 9, 2015, 6:56 pm
      • I’ll remember your name too 🙂

        Posted by sarcasticgoat | October 10, 2015, 12:26 am

Leave a Reply

beth tremaglio

Climbing, rock climbing, bouldering, inspire, soul

R. A. Douglas

Dream big! Live bigger!

Pure Glory

The heavens are telling the glory of God; and the firmament proclaims His handiwork. Psalms 19:1

Might be, I'm Wrong

I express here what I face in my daily life, what I see around me, what I think and what I feel i.e. EXPERIENCE of LIFE.

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

