//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Just Ask Questions!

I’ll be honest. I’m a rather shy and timid person socially. I generally don’t like to raise my voice or show any kind of ‘Alpha Male’ qualities, unless I’m trying to showoff, or if I’m with my small group of close friends and we’re having a laugh!

But, ‘if you don’t ask, you’ll never know’, that’s a famous phrase used on an advert on TV here in Australia endlessly, and it might just have finally sunk into my dumb brain!

I have a friend on FaceBook, he’s a 23 year old Serbian DJ who speaks pretty much perfect English. I very very rarely talk to this guy, I met him on an online video game a few years ago. But tonight I simply asked him this on Facebook; “What’s that picture?” – the picture was a weird kind of conceptual, jagged, spiky, grey, absurd image, very odd shape indeed 

He replied: “It’s a digital representation of the European Soul!”

I was flabbergasted, I said: “Wow, that’s insanely awesome!”

This ‘European Soul’ being depicted as a jagged, ungainly, yet somehow still beautiful thing spurred me on to a whole new branch of thought I’d never even considered! And that branch was this;

I shall finally get around to doing a family tree. I’m European, all my family is from there, and I know that my mother always wanted to do a full family tree too. The farthest I know back is to just one set of my great-great grandparents on my mother’s side in England – Robert and Alice Lee (they sound like such nice people don’t they, haha), but that’s all I know, maybe they were awful! 🙂

So, you know, just ASK that question that’s been on your mind, you never know where the answer will take you. I could so easily have just not asked that Serbian DJ that question, but for some reason I did, and I’m glad I did! Because this whole post literally wouldn’t exist if I hadn’t asked him that question…….that’s insanely weird if you think about it long enough – this post was always floating around in the ether somewhere, right? Maybe not, maybe yes, I don’t know where to go with this, so;

Bye.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

beth tremaglio

Climbing, rock climbing, bouldering, inspire, soul

R. A. Douglas

Dream big! Live bigger!

Pure Glory

The heavens are telling the glory of God; and the firmament proclaims His handiwork. Psalms 19:1

Might be, I'm Wrong

I express here what I face in my daily life, what I see around me, what I think and what I feel i.e. EXPERIENCE of LIFE.

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

