//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Paid Writing?

Does anyone get paid for their writing in any way? I mean, your own blog perhaps, or guest blogging, or writing for a regular periodical?

I’m tired of the job market, looking for new ‘traditional’ jobs just to pay for the necessities of life, like water and heat and power, things that should be totally free if you ask me!

‘HarshReality’ is a blog with LOADS of followers and fans, many many thousands, maybe over 1 million regular readers, but I had a conversation with the person behind that very blog, a good blog, you should check it out – – and this person told me that they’d not received anything above 1 dollar from donations, via the ‘donate’ widget PayPal allows people to use.

So, it would seem that people aren’t really willing to pay bloggers out of the goodness of their hearts, something else must be tried……

……guest blogging is hard, really hard work, people are willing to pay upwards of 20 DOLLARS for you to guest blog on their site, that’s pretty good.

Cracked.com is a site that pays 100 dollars for each and every accepted article. I’ve signed up to their site, but I’ve found that their guidelines are very restrictive, for me at least. They typically like to see list type articles submitted, with a comedic twist. The admins and moderators I’ve found to be a bit contradictory, and there’s a huge amount of favouritism going on it seems, new guys are treated as inferior plebs, while the seasoned veterans can get away with, what I’d call, sub-par articles, simply because they’re friendly with the head honchos at the website. I submitted what I consider to be one of the best things I’ve ever written, it was called ‘Was Obi-Wan an Alcoholic’. I got responses varying from ‘not really the sort of thing we’re after’ to ‘you need to show facts and quotes in your work’ – – what facts!? Facts and quotes that can verify that Obi Wan the fictional character was indeed an alcoholic? What? Also, Cracked.com is rife with what I’d like to call for now, ‘Try Hard White Humor’. This type of humor contains no actual jokes or funny ideas, instead they rely on sarcasm, snobbery and making fun of anything and everything without any real humourous content (if you get what I mean) – – “Sports are like so, boring, sports are like that racist uncle at Christmas time, they’re always around you, loud and strangely muscular” – – actually, that made up quote was funnier than the majority of Cracked articles to be honest.

Anyway, if anyone here is in the market for a guest blogger, I’ll be happy to write for you.

Cheers.

Discussion

18 thoughts on “Paid Writing?

  1. If you find something great, feel free to share ๐Ÿ™‚ I get email from “freedom with writing” that has lots of good info on paid writing opportunities. Some ideas look pretty decent, but I haven’t tried it. Writing is safer than skydiving and cheaper than therapy though ๐Ÿ˜‰ Good luck to you!

    Posted by samanthafooce | July 18, 2015, 6:12 pm
    • haha thanks.
      Why haven’t you tried it, if I may ask?

      Posted by sarcasticgoat | July 18, 2015, 6:26 pm
      • I should say because I haven’t found just the right one, but the truth is more likely because I’m an unorganized procrastinator, inconsistent blogger, deadlines scare me, I’m too impulsive to actually wait to see if something is accepted and want to post stuff immediately, I have no concept of how many words are in anything I write or how to fit this into the required length, and I’m afraid of rejection. So, yeah…I just haven’t found the right one for me ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Posted by samanthafooce | July 18, 2015, 6:34 pm
      • Interesting,
        I’m just the opposite, deadlines make me write better for some reason.
        And rejection isn’t a problem for me, as I’ve experienced more than a lifetime of it, so I’m immune to it at this point! lol
        My advice would be to just write a draft guest blog without any surefire knowledge of the subject, just write about it with Wikipedia as your friend. (learning as you go) You’d be amazed how creative you can become by just learning about the subject for the first time! ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Posted by sarcasticgoat | July 18, 2015, 6:41 pm
      • First assignment> Google “guest blog,” and use Wikipedia definition to figure out second assignment since I have no “surefire knowledge of the subject.” Go it.

        Posted by samanthafooce | July 18, 2015, 6:46 pm
      • What happened in this comment? I don’t understand it!? lol

        Posted by sarcasticgoat | July 18, 2015, 6:48 pm
  2. I guess I could have simply asked you what a guest blog was.

    Posted by samanthafooce | July 18, 2015, 6:53 pm
  3. Some people write for constant content or text broker.

    Posted by jbsnow | July 18, 2015, 8:29 pm
  4. I just write to amuse myself, I actually roll on the floor laughing at my stupid writing, rolling around in the floor like a little girl. I had no clue they paid via pay pal, or donate, or that you got paid as a guest blogger. Thatยดs a new revelation for me. I would pay you to write in my blog but Iยดm flat broke and those 20 $ I could use them to eat for about a week. Although it was nice that you gave out that web page. Iยดll go check it out now and see whatยดs all about.

    Posted by charlypriest | July 19, 2015, 5:59 pm
    • You write interesting poems too, you’d be surprised how many people would actually pay for a compilation of poems.
      Chuck some of your up on Amazon for 99 cents or something, it’s worth a try! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Posted by sarcasticgoat | July 20, 2015, 12:57 am
      • I was thinking of going through all the poems I have written, pick what I think are good ( if there are any) and recompile them and make a little book. I already got the title in mind. Maybe in the near future, and you have to, I say have to, buy one, only 99 cents….hell, what cost people more is the shipping of the thing

        Posted by charlypriest | July 20, 2015, 11:35 am
      • I will buy one, because 99 cents is just about within my price range! lol

        Posted by sarcasticgoat | July 20, 2015, 1:23 pm
      • Here we go two then

        Posted by charlypriest | July 20, 2015, 3:25 pm
  5. I received another informative email from “Freedom With Writing” today and decided that my excuses for not trying are pretty lame. I think I’ll try to submit a few things soon. The worst thing that can happen is receiving a rejection letter. Then, I’ll write something about getting the rejection letter ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Posted by samanthafooce | July 22, 2015, 12:24 am

Leave a Reply

Might be, I'm Wrong

I express here what I face in my daily life, what I see around me, what I think and what I feel i.e. EXPERIENCE of LIFE.

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Portraits of War

Snapshots in Time

