//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Hitch

christopher-hitchens-drinking (1)

Thanks Christopher Hitchens,

thanks for opening my mind to the mind numbing and dangerous nature of religion in particular. I was never religious at any point in my life, and I was sort of ambivalent towards it, I thought “well, they’re free to believe any bullshit they like, doesn’t affect me!”, but thanks to you, I learned that it DOES affect me, not just me but everybody, those without faith and those of different faiths worldwide.

Religion is a poison, in that it affects people to their core. Stem cell research (one of the potentially greatest breakthroughs ever) gets blocked by Christian politicians who don’t ‘agree’ with stem cell theory. Women and girls in the Middle East have battery acid thrown in their faces if they’re caught unveiled. A good quote is this; “By and large, good people will do good things and bad people will do bad things. But if you want good people to do bad things, you’ll need religion.”

“Take the challenge of thinking for yourself, much more truth and beauty, more than any religion could ever give you, will come your way.”

Hitch! Your heavy drinking and smoking made me want to try those things for the first time, I still smoke to this day, it’s all your fault you brilliant man!

Your vehement defense of the war in Iraq also changed my mind. Although I didn’t have any real opinion for or against the war, you made it clear through your epic speeches and debates that we really did have a right and a duty to go there and topple over the reign of a truly horrific crime family called ‘Hussein’.

You were unique, because you seemed to have a perfect memory of anything you’d ever read. You could recite entire paragraphs at will…….I’ve not known anyone else able to do this. Particularly enjoyable was when during a debate on literature, you recited the whole of the poem ‘Jabberwocky’.

You’ve possibly been the most important person in my life when it comes to free thought and vicious inquiry. And I’m glad you existed.

Thanks again.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Hitch

  1. Anything and everything in moderation is the best religion, but the same does’nt apply to anything or everything evil though, and therefore, any doctrine or belief that condones or propagates evil is no religion at all!

    Posted by mike7sedona | July 12, 2015, 4:45 pm
    • Islam is no religion at all then according that rationale.
      Thoughts and ideas that can’t be changed by fact (scientific discoveries ignored by religionists), are inherently bankrupt of any quality or moral worth.
      The Old Testament has the most evil teachings of any book ever, but Christians got past those passages, and are now relatively peaceful, yet still, scientifically ignorant people.
      Again, people can believe anything they want to, but when it infringes on my quality of life, you must be challenged and ridiculed and eventually beaten……it’s just sad that most religions are like this. šŸ˜¦

      Posted by sarcasticgoat | July 12, 2015, 5:03 pm
      • Such viewpoints have been put forward and practiced by charlatans since time immemorial to enjoy life at the cost of blind believers – wolves in sheep’s clothing!

        Posted by mike7sedona | July 12, 2015, 5:56 pm

Leave a Reply

Might be, I'm Wrong

I express here what I face in my daily life, what I see around me, what I think and what I feel i.e. EXPERIENCE of LIFE.

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Portraits of War

Snapshots in Time

