//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Best Sounding Car Ever! – – Car Connoisseur Talk

aston martin amr1This majestic beast. The Aston Martin AMR1 from 1989. This bastard had a 6.3 litre V8 engine. Very revvy, yet very torquey at the same time. The engine masters at Callaway Engines in Old Lyme, Connecticut fettled the Aston Martin engine some more, giving it a total of about 740 horsepower.

I’ve seen/heard this thing in person, and it’s a sound as violent and chest-bursting as it is beautiful. All engines can be made to sound great, 4 cylinder turbos, V12s, V6s etc, but V8s are something different, they rumble, growl, wail and shriek better and with more nobility and majesty than any other type of engine.

This engine, I heard it coming from halfway across the damn track, then it came into view, it was going down the main straight, buzzing at about 8000rpm, it slowed down a little bit to ready itself for the first corner, flames spat out of the exhaust pipes, then the driver floored it out of the first corner, he got a bit sideways then thundered off down the second straight. The sound was V8 in nature, but it was a different type of V8 noise that I’ve never heard from any other car. It has hints of dragon and hints of Spitfire WW2 fighter plane. It sounds rough and raucous and grumblingly uncomfortable at low rpm’s, but then the whole sound of the engine seems to tighten up and become crisp and focused in all its growling glory when it reaches higher rpm’s.

I don’t know what it takes to make a V8 sound as good as this, but I shall try my best when I buy a 4 litre Toyota V8 for a project car.

The V8 of all V8 engines, ladies and gentlemen.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Might be, I'm Wrong

I express here what I face in my daily life, what I see around me, what I think and what I feel i.e. EXPERIENCE of LIFE.

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Portraits of War

Snapshots in Time

