//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Transphobic? Rape Culture? Political Correctness? (I feel a rant coming on)

I love that Caitlyn Jenner, formerly Bruce Jenner, has come out fully as a woman. I will now refer to her as a woman, I’ll pay her that respect (I almost never refer to that person at all in any aspect of my life in any company I keep, but if the situation arises, I shall call her a her). Many people won’t though, which is a bit strange. BUT, those people have the right to still call this person “Bruce”, they simply ARE allowed to speak about Caitlyn as still being Bruce. People ARE allowed to make jokes about Bruce/Caitlyn, even jokes in very bad taste, because why??………because they’re just jokes! And if those jokes aren’t appreciated by a large number of people, then the joke-maker will have to deal with the backlash, but they ARE still allowed to make those jokes.

Here’s the thing…….jokes aren’t real. Jokes aren’t actual, well thought out positions on issues, they’re just jokes – – they’re constructs of language and imagination and expectation, they’re not real opinions that the joke-teller wants to be adopted by the mass populace, k? Jokes are, I would say, the absolute bedrock of Freedom of Speech. If we can’t make jokes about things, then that’s when we have to really start worrying, because it’ll probably mean that another Mr. Hitler is coming up through the fascist ranks to try to rule over us for a thousand years….but we spanked Hitler once, we could do it again I think.

People these days are far more sensitive about almost everything for some reason. On the issue of rape, for example – –  Now, I know rape is possibly the second worst thing that can happen to a person, 1st would be murder, I’d say, but there have been campaigns by radical left-wing people, lots of them feminists, trying to get comedians off the stage, publicly booed and harassed, because these comics made jokes about rape………

……jokes about rape aren’t the same as joking about someone who has been raped (which is horrible and anyone found doing it should be physically beaten with sticks). Believe it or not, there are ways to make the subject of rape funny, I personally don’t know how to do it, but many comedians have found ways to make crowds of hundreds roll in the aisles while joking about the subject of rape.

That being said, these jokes are fine and as far as I’m concerned, welcomed, as long as the people telling the jokes are willing to put up with/deal with the backlash they will no doubt receive.

That’s it, rant over.

Happy 6th of June……..D-Day anniversary, ah, not such a happy time I guess. Any way, goodbye. 🙂

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Transphobic? Rape Culture? Political Correctness? (I feel a rant coming on)

  1. I agree with you for the most part. I think people have become ridiculously sensitive. I am always wondering if I am about to say something that is going to offend without really meaning to. We are really becoming a humorless society. But at the same time, things that were never seen on TV, swear words, etc are commonplace. It is very puzzling, how we have become to lenient on some things but so rigid on others.

    Posted by SD Gates | June 6, 2015, 7:31 pm

Leave a Reply

Nerd Drivel

The stuff that you want to know about but were afraid to ask.

Food for Poetryy

eat, sip, travel, click, pen down poetry = Helps best reflect on life !

beth tremaglio

Climbing, rock climbing, bouldering, inspire, soul

R. A. Douglas

Dream big! Live bigger!

Pure Glory

The heavens are telling the glory of God; and the firmament proclaims His handiwork. Psalms 19:1

Might be, I'm Wrong

I express here what I face in my daily life, what I see around me, what I think and what I feel i.e. EXPERIENCE of LIFE.

