//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Poetry For Dummies (Advice on Blogging)

Any poems I write on this Blog are entirely amateur. Do not take this poem as creedence for success!

Write about things you know, love and enjoy,

your true beauty will show through,

Don’t try to rhyme too hard,

danger lies there, like a C4-laden tabard.

.

.

Love what you do, folks,

write rhymes that people’ll flock to,

Don’t take drugs to achieve any creativity,

Heroin is dangerous, alcohol will ruin you.

.

.

Write about things that make you tick,

like a big ol’ case of lyme disease, damn ticks!

Love, life and food is a popular choice,

rhyme the shit outta those things, girls and boys!

.

.

Travel around your town or city,

seeing things, observing everything,

write about that stuff, you’ll be Poetry King!

Write that poem out, then scrap it,

.

.

write it out again, then scrap it again,

Ernest Hemingway wisely said, “The first draft of anything is shit”.

Rewrite that shit, you silly bums.

Poetry is hard, you’ll not get it in one!

.

.

I have, in the past, tried to justify my alcohol abuse as ‘creativity’,

I’m not saying it did nothing to help me,

It helped by loosening the inhibitions,

but my life would’ve gone to shit if I stayed on it.

.

.

Poetry…it’s simple.

Rhyme sentences to begin with,

then see where it goes.

You’ll be surprised how much you enjoy the process.

.

.

The flow of words, the rhythm of rhymes,

will echo in your head like Church chimes.

Just write anything, that’s my experience,

And people’ll be camping out in tents!

.

.

Bye 😉

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Poetry For Dummies (Advice on Blogging)

  1. LOL! Great post, you made me chuckle 😉

    Posted by insanitybytes22 | February 26, 2015, 4:52 pm

Leave a Reply

beth tremaglio

Climbing, rock climbing, bouldering, inspire, soul

R. A. Douglas

Dream big! Live bigger!

Pure Glory

The heavens are telling the glory of God; and the firmament proclaims His handiwork. Psalms 19:1

Might be, I'm Wrong

I express here what I face in my daily life, what I see around me, what I think and what I feel i.e. EXPERIENCE of LIFE.

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

