//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The Joy Of Writing Via Pen/Pencil/Quill/Hammer and Chisel, Whatevs!

The previous poem/story I posted was actually something I wrote late last night when I couldn’t get to sleep. I wrote it on a bit of scrap paper and a company pen, a black pen with a pleasant clicky type mechanism.

My handwriting at the best of times is a shambles! But I could still read it perfectly well. Remember those kids in school who would be asked to read something they’d written, but they had a hard time reading their own handwriting? What the fucken hell was that all about? I never understood that. Stupid kids!

Anyway, what I would like to share with you is this…..

…..there is a visceral pleasure you get when you actually write something out manually, as it were. This pleasure simply cannot be replicated via the keyboard, what I be writin’ on to get dis sick shit to yous all, aye!? See what I mean, the keyboard is so impersonal and strange to type on, it makes you type some wacky shit!

I know that many people love old fashioned typewriters. They love writing on those. I can understand that, I might have to buy one one day. I know Tom Hanks is a typewriter enthusiast, weird bit of trivia for you.

But I found, last night, that actually physically writing the stuff out on paper was great! I felt as though I was more creative somehow, don’t know why. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that when you’re writing on paper, you have the insane urge to doodle little pictures on the paper as you go along, something you just can’t do when you’re typing on a modern keyboard.

If you have a girlfriend/boyfriend or any special person in your life, I urge you to write them a letter. That’s right, an actual physical letter on paper! Then send it to them via “mail”. Mail is like email before the E came along and made it all electric, like! (Geordie reference) I love Ross Noble, like.

So, next time you’re thinking of writing a post on your Blog, I think you should re-evaluate your decision. Take a break from the computer, write out your Blog idea on paper. Write it once, quickly. Then go over it quite thoroughly, you will find ways to make it better, believe me. Then transfer your paper-based thoughts onto your computer.

Take it from me, it’s a very satisfying experience. Never done it before, did it last night on a whim, and it was cool!

Woohoo!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Might be, I'm Wrong

I express here what I face in my daily life, what I see around me, what I think and what I feel i.e. EXPERIENCE of LIFE.

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Portraits of War

Snapshots in Time

