//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

What If Money Were No Object

What if money were no object? What would you do with your life if money did not matter one iota?

Would you be a painter? A poet? Would you travel the world? Would you join a charity? Would you join the military? Would you stay at home and play video games?

What if? What if money was abandoned, done away with, kaput!?

Would the world crumble? Many think so. But I don’t.

Would our creativity and inventiveness dwindle away? Many, again, think so. But that won’t happen, I don’t think.

Money encourages, and rewards, competitiveness and competition. Without money, we’d lack the urge to create or move forward, wouldn’t we? No, I don’t think so.

I might be sounding like some kind of Futurist Communist or something like that, but hear me out.

I think NONE of our greatest values and skills as homo sapiens will go away when money eventually goes away.

Think about the richest person you know……they may be a very nice, smart, loving person who seems very happy. But, are they the most creative, inventive and innovative person you’ve ever met? Most likely no. And if they ARE, then they were born that way, the vast amount of money they’ve accrued in their life had nothing to do with their innate talents.

To get quite personal, I have about 71 dollars in my bank account (could be less, I very rarely check my balance, because it makes me scared every time I look at it). In addition to the 71 dollars, I have 45 dollars in my wallet. This 45 dollars is what I have left over from my birthday. So, that’s a total of 116 dollars, and d’you know what? I’m the happiest I’ve been in a very long time.

I’ve 116 dollars to my name, and I’m quite content with life at the moment. Now, I know that actually the vast majority of people on Earth have less than 116 dollars, but I’m not them.

My ideal world would be this……..

A world where money means nothing. A world where people can actually do anything they want, without fearing they won’t be able to afford it. A world where skills, conversations, and character are the main currency. Nothing will “cost” anything. Anything people want to acquire, will have to be earned in other ways. A world where we can all get along, basically. Those who aren’t willing to “earn” things they want, simply won’t get them.

Cya.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “What If Money Were No Object

  1. Funny, just curious, who is going to build you a house to live in, grow your food and deliver it to you out of the goodness of their hearts?

    Posted by ricodilello | January 22, 2015, 7:43 pm
  2. That is an interesting thought. I believe the world could survive without money. But the world would tear it self apart at first before it would start to work together to achieve it.

    Posted by ericjaspers | January 22, 2015, 9:48 pm

Leave a Reply

CM 97/98

Losing the hours all over again

Red Shambhala

Only what they do not need first to understand, they consider understandable. - Adorno

Patrice Ayme's Thoughts

Morality Needs Intelligence As Will Needs Mind. Intelligence Is Humanism.

Lebana's Journal

I Dare You to Figure Me Out

Rashi Shrivastava

TemptationOfWords

Stories For All

Amature Writer. Short Stories.

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

RoughBandit

#joke #lol #haha #funny #hilarious

LIMES & LEMONADES

When life happens

POETRY PASSION

A PLACE FOR PROFESSIONAL & PASSIONATE POETS

