//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Best Thing I’ve Ever Read

No, it’s not a book or magazine or pamphlet. It is a single quote from the Astronomer Royal of the United Kingdom, Sir Martin Rees.

It goes like this…….

“There’s an unthinking tendency to think that we, humans, in our present state, will be around to witness the death of our Sun, and the vaporization of all life on Earth. But, due to evolution, any humans alive in 6 billion years time will be as different from us as we are from bacteria”! 

The most arresting thing I’ve ever read.

Ciao.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Best Thing I’ve Ever Read

  1. Great point. To nitpick, I think the earth will be uninhabitable in like 2.8 billion years or something. But both of those time spans are pretty much unfathomable.
    I’d love to know what sort of effect technology will have on evolution. We can already see human-caused evolution in animals, but I wonder when we will start seeing it in ourselves. Let’s just hope we don’t blow ourselves up too soon.

    Posted by scienceinpolitics | October 23, 2014, 4:22 pm
    • I think we’ll screw ourselves too. Martin Rees says that within the next 100 years, we basically have a 50/50 chance of completely fucking things up forever or not.
      I hope that things like stem-cell generated organs start to get implanted in humans on a regular basis (the religious argument against this is so silly and stupid).
      And I’m not sure how I feel about advanced technology being implanted into our brains, making us all super intelligent. For some reason I’m reticent to accept that idea.
      There are some who think that we’ve kind of stopped our own evolution as humans, because of great health care and technology, so these flabby, weak bodies we have right now might be all that we have, until we can engineer some kind of RoboCop bodies! haha
      Thanks for commenting. 😉

      Posted by sarcasticgoat | October 23, 2014, 4:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Pure Glory

The heavens are telling the glory of God; and the firmament proclaims His handiwork. Psalms 19:1

Might be, I'm Wrong

I express here what I face in my daily life, what I see around me, what I think and what I feel i.e. EXPERIENCE of LIFE.

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Portraits of War

Snapshots in Time

